Here's looking at you kid…

My beloved grandparents are confined to hospital since Christmas. My family is going through a lot at the moment, and I am not sure how I can be of help to them being here in Germany. I was over there briefly a few weeks ago after being convinced that it may be the last time I ever get to see my grandfather…my friend, my mentor, my replacement father. Death is probably the biggest mystery we will all encounter one day. I can not honestly say that I look forward to this adventure, but I will say this, death is not the end of everything–life goes on. Our love for those closest to our hearts does not stop because of death. Its a hard concept to grasp for most of us but its the one thing I know to be true. I am full of sad anticipation of how life will be without him, but I also have the faith that there is something better waiting for him on the other side while I, while those, who are left behind continue to try and solve the riddles of living. Here’s looking at you old man. You live as you have from day one inside of my being. Don’t forget to smile on your way home.

