At exactly 4:45 pm today at work, the postman came and delivered my long awaited order of Hi Fructose Magazine’s beautiful annual index of the most amazing underground artists and illustrators. It may sound lame but, my idea of  fulfillment as an artist is being recognised by this mag or Juxtapoz(another gnarly underground art treatise). Don’t get me wrong, I wont turn into some misreable old cactus always ready to spit and bear my spikes at any passer-by, if I never get featured in either publication…there are worse things in life…but there sure will be a heck of a lot of sighing and cake eating involved…I digress. So this afternoon, I became the proud owner of 1 of 3000 copies of the Collected Edition 2 box set! I seriously didn’t think there would be any left. But I lucked out completely! In this compendium, artists such as Audrey Kawasaki, Amy Sol, Jason D’Aquino, Xiaoqing Ding, James Jean and Marion Peck are featured…300 glorious pages full of inspiring work and insightful interviews. What else is in it:

  • A2 sized Poster by Jason Freeny
  • Stickers from from Travis Lampe, Gary Baseman, & Ferris Ploc
  • 5 Special Edition Prints from: Travis Louie, Audrey Kawasaki, Edwin Ushiro, Mars-1 and Yoko d’Holbachie
  • lots of motivation

Well enough gabbing. I took photos so you can all ooh and aah with me digitally🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On the subject of art,  I have not been procrastinating. Its been awfully busy for me at the product design studio so that by the time I arrive home, my brain just hurts and I just want to crawl into bed and shut the world out for 10 hours. I don’t think I have the mental capacity this week to think up a sketch for illu Friday’s theme “Deja-Vu”… But its only wednesday so you never know…maybe a miracle happens and a godly zap strikes my brain. Instead, I managed to make a drawing for myself last weekend around 2 in the morning. Its not quite done yet, but I couldnt leave you all empty handed😉 I guess this was my way of returning to my roots. I want to continue this series of drawings and bring them to life on a larger scale and dedicate them to my grandmother. It doesn’t make up for many years of sacrifice and devotion to making sure I had clothes on my back  a roof over my head and a solid education…but its what I am capable of for the moment. Here it is:

01_Jade-Goddess