World Trade Center, September 11th 2001

I cant believe its been 10 years. My television woke me up as it usually did monday to friday at 8:45 am, and was set to CTV breakfast television, a perfect start to a perfect day…except on that terrible Tuesday, the 11th of September in 2001, it was everything but perfect. My eyes and ears opened to this horrific and unbelievably realistic scene of the World Trade Center in flames, and my first thought was, “Darn, CG effects are getting so good, but why are they airing some post apocalyptic film instead of Breakfast TV?!”. Two seconds later, I realised it wasn’t a film but the news, and it was really happening! I jumped out of bed almost falling flat on my face had the T.V. stand not been there to support me. I stood in front of my television dumbfounded. Close to 9 am, from behind all the smoke spiralling towards the sky, I catch the shadow of something rapidly and chaotically diving towards the second tower. It makes contact and I couldnt help but scream. “Its really fucking happening (excuse the language)!”, I scramble to reach my phone and frantically dial my grandparents in New York…I was thinking this was an act of war against the americans and that they had to get out NOW! The lines were dead and I felt like shit. Despite that, I went to my morning studio class where we were told to go home. I didnt want to be alone, so I hung out with some of my mates in the cafeteria. We were all in shock. We were all wondering if our american cousins were alright. We were all wondering if Toronto was going to be hit as well. Eventually after several days, I was able to make contact with my grandparents – the whole family was fine. Turns out one of my uncles was in one of the Towers, but thankfully managed to escape to safety. I can imagine what my aunt and cousins were going through at that time! It seems like it was yesterday. To the men, women, and children of New York, I salute you with these words:

“Do not stand at my grave and weep,
I am not there… I do not sleep.
I am the thousand winds that blow…
I am the diamond glints on snow…
I am the sunlight on ripened grain…
I am the gentle autumn rain.
When you waken in the morning’s hush,
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of gentle birds in circling flight…
I am the soft star that shines at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry—
I am not there… I did not die…” Irish prayer