My Grandparents have been a major part of my life since I can remember. My birth came as a great surprise to my parents and to my grandparents and the circumstances were not ideal. But life is not always ideal and the stronger people, well, they learn to adjust. My grandparents were those people. Strong, steadfast, and authentic. They took me into their household with great love, fed me, cared for me and raised me. They made sure that I always had a roof over my head, clothes on my back  and made sure that I did not starve not only for food, but for knowledge. My favourite animal is the owl. I love it for what it represents in western society. Its an icon for wisdom. Whenever I see it, I think of my grandfather. They say that “A wise man is superior to any insults which can be put upon him, and the best reply to unseemly behavior is patience and moderation.” My grandfather was patient and moderate. Though I mostly fail at learning this lesson, I try my hardest to be wise and to follow his example.  The owl also represents prudence. An egyptian statesmen from ancient times (Akhenaton if you must know) described Prudence as being the guide and mistress of human life. This is exactly my grandmother. She was my mistress and she guided my life

My grandmother and I may have disagreed on many things, but her words never left my mind, never left my heart. Her footprints stay fresh within me. Today as we remember them, they remain with us and will continue to guide  us and make a difference in all of our lives. For that, I personally thank you Anma and Ankong.