I am feeling rather blue lately. I have recently lost 2 of the most important people in my life at the same time and I don’t really think I will ever be able to get over it. I didn’t really have a proper time to “mourn” my loss either. Everything had happened so quickly, and as the oldest of 12 grandchildren, I felt it wouldn’t help matters by crying. I am after all, a grown woman and the younger ones needed more help than I did. Why do I even think this way?! Sometimes even I, frustrate myself. Anyway, I’ve been in the mood lately for darker backgrounds and picked myself up a black sketchbook. I was mucking around with coloured pencils and this is the result:

It was a fun quick drawing. Granted its not a masterwork, but I like the feel and the idea so much, that I am sure I will use it again on a sturdier support , maybe wood panel or canvas…or velvet haha! I also spent most of the weekend working on my latest painting, Leda and the Swan so here is also an update on its progress:

I am off now to spend some time with Mr. K. who is pining away for me on our couch as I write. Never take your loved ones for granted. Never. Until next time dear guests, have a great week and see you here soon.