Happy 2013 everyone! Can you believe how fast the year went?! It has been a year of great ups and great downs, and I didn’t get to accomplish as much as I wanted in 2012 so I am hoping that this year will be more productive art-wise. All of December was full of hustle and bustle in preparation for DK and mine’s first real Christmas together. We had a real tree and I baked a buttload of cookies! Enough to open my own Christmas Market Stand lol! After the festivities, we took off for Prague to celebrate the New Year. I can promise you, Prague does not disappoint—its one of the most, if not the most beautiful city in the union…right up there with Paris.
We even met irish writer John Boyne of “The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas” who was celebrating New Year’s on the same “Jazz” cruise. I kid you not! It made my best friend’s daughter’s new year as she was avidly reading his book “The Terrible Thing That Happened To Barnaby Brocket” during the entire holiday—heck! it made my entire night as well! I was absolutely floored as aforementioned book is a favourite of mine. If you have never read any of his books, I suggest you do.
Leaving Prague was an adventure, we realised we had only seen the touristy side of Prague when we ended up getting lost for an hour in some ghetto-like area outside of the city core. It was really interesting actually and I wish we had actually stopped somewhere to take photos but we were all anxious to get back to Munich. I was anxious because I’ve been itching to finish up my contribution to the Sketchbook Project 2013 especially having seen some really beautiful czechoslovakian art – Alfonse Mucha to name one!
So here is a preview of what I accomplished up til’ now:

20130102-181132.jpg
As some of you may know, i wanted to make another japanese fold artbook for 2013 but this time using black card stock paper. My theme is “Creatures” and I was inspired by Dr. Seuss and school chalkboard drawings. I haven’t put any thought into the cover as of yet but I believe it will involve papercut designs. Now go and get some work done and accomplish great things! I’ve got your back🙂