20130119-190857.jpg

Being busy with the sketchbook project and vector graphics galore, I haven’t contributed to Illustration Friday for so long! Too long! But when I saw this week’s topic “Myth”, I was so happy because as it turns out, it fits with the series of paintings I have been working on for the past several months. For those of you who have been keeping up with me, you know I have this obsession with the fox maiden, Tamamo; perhaps the most intriguing and beguiling female figures in Japanese mythology. It is a story I am obsessed with for the past few years. I am in love with her, with the idea of her, and with her story because in many ways I see her smile reflecting back at me when I face the mirror. I suppose I can call her my familiar. The fox maiden has had to endure hardship, a downtrodden heart, and betrayal but always moved forward gathering her strength to protect the truth but according to the old myth with tragic consequences. I want to change that. Give her a “fair” ending, an ending I could live with🙂 Usually I would be nice enough to give you a hyperlink to some resource material like wiki but this tablet app for wordpress does not allow me to do it so I will suggest that you wiki Tamamo if you are curious and want more in depth information about her. Well back to the painting! kisses, Paintblotch…