20140711-105241-39161613.jpg

ok this was my favourite challenge of the 30 day drawing challenge so far…kinda pathetic that I get super excited about food but meh – what are ya gonna do? I love food. So the above are my absolute top favourite foods asides from any of my late grandma’s home cooked meals which is will always be number 1. NOONE can top that no matter how many michelin stars you have. Her food was legendary. But I digress, I wanted to talk about the foods in my silly little drawing -_- We have an idealised version of me with purple hair eating a bowl of delicious Ramen (oh that ramen should be hot and steamy :/) which is a type of japanese noodle soup using thin, kind of curly egg noodles…there is also Soba and Udon noodle soup but I prefer Ramen. Accompanying this soup is a BIG steamed bun called Da bao – this is really loved in my family and its usually filled with chicken, sausage, pork-belly hard boiled salty egg and a little bit of green — I am not vegetarian obviously. Right next to it is sticky rice with various other fillings (usually meat and chinese sausage) wrapped in bamboo leaf…in our dialect (Fukien) we refer to it as Ba Zhang — in mandarin its called something else…Both Da bao and Ba zhang can be found in my favourite meal of the day Dim Sum (this is a cantonese word for special breakfast which many chinese all over the world enjoy but the best dim sum can be found -according to many- in Vancouver and Singapore). In Germany, there is a misconception that dim sum refers to steamed buns filled with sweet bbq pork called char-siu bao…which is kinda dumb if you ask me, misinforming many people who want to try and learn about chinese food. Dim Sum and Yum Cha are meals which consist of many many delectible little dishes. I apologise for my long rant – I take the art of enjoying chinese food very seriously. Last but not least is a japanese rice ball called Onigiri, they come in many shapes and have different fillings, but I love the triangular one with sour plum the best. So thats it, I spent waaaaay too much time talking about food…time to get back to work. See you tomorrow!